RMG

 

The class trip to the RMG was quite an experience for me. I never knew any printers of this magnitude where in Chattanooga, but they do prints all over. On The tour the first machine I learned about was their most state of the art and was one of a kind with abilities most of their competition could not match. They also had two similar printing machines that were much older but still efficient enough to use which used offset lithography which uses blankets to apply pressure which we got too see them hang some of the blankets on the rails after use.The most impressive site on the trip was the digital printers which can print on almost anything. The ceiling lights had advertisements on them which were printed from their printer, there were several examples spread all over of advertisements and images the digital printer could print off. Watching the printer in action was also very impressive as it printed out an add on vinyl. The whole experience really opened my eyes. Before this trip my conception of what a major printing operation was like was a lot more limited considering my only printing recourses I have ever used were the ones on campus and Kinko’s. 

~ by nicklamkin on February 21, 2008.

Leave a comment